Häxan is the live soundtrack to silent classic docu-horror Häxan – Witchraft Through The Ages, featuring Thomas T Dahl on electric guitar.

Download or stream directly from our Bandcamp or listen in SpotifySoundcloudApple MusicYoutubeAmazonGoogle Play and all other services.

  1. Cloister Collapse
  2. Burning Rainbows
  3. All That Glitter Has Angst
  4. Walpurgis Night Flight
  5. Festung Skurrilität
  6. Square Root Of Minus Curious
  7. Make Believe Beloved
  8. Häxan
  9. Carcas Bandits
  10. Pyrasomnabulist
  11. Conspire To Inquire

Häxan – The Witch (1922) is an episodic docu-horror of witchcraft. Directed by Benjamin Christensen, it is loosely based on Malleus Maleficarum, a judicial document from 1486 on the prosecution of witches. The Burning Rainbows music video consists of footage from the film.

The music and the sound design for Häxan uses both traditional contemporary film music, and custom prepared sounds of both ancient and contemporary witchcraft and sorcery. The score is created with hundreds of recordings of intimate, microscopic sounds of witchraft and sorcery. The score also uses real sounds recorded at Blocksberg (the mountain of Walpurgis-Night).

The score for Häxan concludes the “Fantastic Women” trilogy of silent films: Häxan (2015), La Passion de Jeanne D’Arc (2013) and Aelita – Queen Of Mars (2012).

Composed, arranged, programmed and produced by Gisle Martens Meyer. Electric guitar by Thomas T. Dahl. Published by Uncanny Planet. The project was comissioned by Cinemateket USF, funded by Det Norske KomponistfondFFUK and FFLB, and premiered at Cinemateket USF November 2015.


Comments are closed.